

New Chair and Deputy Chair of ARNECC

ARNECC is pleased to announce it has appointed a new Chair and Deputy Chair effective from 7 November 2024, following the departure of existing ARNECC Chair, Ms Jenny Cottnam, on 1 November.

Ms Melissa Harris PSM is the new Chair of ARNECC. Melissa has been the Registrar of Titles for Victoria and Head of Land Use Victoria since November 2020 and has been a member of ARNECC for 2 years. Melissa is also the Victorian Board member for NECDS Ltd and the Chair of the Australia and New Zealand Land Information Council. Melissa was the Deputy Chair of ARNECC from 1 July 2024.

Joining Melissa is ARNECC's new Deputy Chair, Mr Matthew Kamarul. Matthew is the Deputy Registrar General for the Australian Capital Territory and ACT Board member of NECDS Ltd. Prior to commencing his current role in November 2023, Matthew was an Executive within the ACT Government for over 3 years and Deputy Registrar of the ACT Magistrates Court for almost six years. Matthew was also a practicing Solicitor of the ACT and the Northern Territory for many years.

Melissa and Matthew bring considerable land titles administration and eConveyancing experience to ARNECC.

ARNECC takes this opportunity to thank the outgoing Chair, Ms Jenny Cottnam, for her outstanding contribution to ARNECC over many years. Jenny's expertise and passion for eConveyancing was a significant asset to ARNECC in implementing national reform and supporting the development of an effective regulatory regime for eConveyancing in Australia. Jenny was Chair of ARNECC in 2020-2021 and from 1 July to 1 November 2024. She was also a key contributor to ARNECC's industry panels.

About ARNECC

The Australian Registrars' National Electronic Conveyancing Council (ARNECC) is the body established to facilitate the implementation and ongoing management of the regulatory framework for electronic conveyancing of real property in Australia.

ARNECC is constituted under an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) among the State and Territory Governments. ARNECC membership comprises the Land Titles Registrars (or their nominee) from each Australian State and Territory that has entered into the IGA.